Surviving An All Nighter

If you’re like me, procrastination is not just something your teachers and professors warn you not to do….it’s an embraced way of life for many of us. For me, my best ideas form when I have to put my brain into overdrive. I’ll think of something crazy and try to make it happen. Sometimes it’s a long shot and doesn’t always come out how I planned, but it usually keeps me from doing something lame. Sounds like a situation where the complete opposite should happen, but again, this is just me and you might do something different. Tomorrow, I have a test in my Environment Conservation class, but more importantly, I have a midterm project due, which if you haven’t guessed by the title of this post, I haven’t even started. The requirements are for me to have read the first six chapters of our textbook and pull out ten insertions from the book and find two images; one that fits the insertion and one that doesn’t. Really, I don’t think this will be too hard of a project for me. I’m pretty creative (or at least I like to tell myself that) and I’ve already come up with a few ideas. The challenge about all of this (the project and the test) is that I will most likely be pulling an all nighter to make sure I get all of this done. Since I haven’t posted anything in a few days, I decided to share what works best for me when I have to get my shit together and do work.

1. Caffeine Pills
Clearly I’m no doctor, so I’m not going to tell you to take 25 caffeine pills, stay up for 48 hours and have some sort of mental breakdown or have a seizure the next day. What I will tell you is that they do help. I take a couple and then I’m alert and ready to twerk work.

2. Don’t Get Comfy
If you’re just getting home from somewhere and you’re about to buckle down and study, finish a paper or a project, if you’re not wearing something comfortable, don’t change. The moment you slip into your sweatpants or athletic shorts and a tee, you’re setting yourself up for an early night. I usually stay in my jeans and whatever shirt I was wearing.

3. Log Off
I know you think you can’t afford to miss that girl-you-don’t-talk-to’s wedding photos and another girl’s “week 28 baby bump” pictures or the possible leak of Beyoncé’s upcoming single, but you need to let it go. Have a ten second “What’s in my future?” conversation with yourself and if that girl is not in it, then it doesn’t matter right now. Stay off your social networking sites! Trust me.

5. Go Somewhere Else
By this I mean go somewhere you don’t usually study or do work. You should still be somewhere that’s comfortable for you, but a place that has good lighting, minimal noise and not many distractions.

6. Stay Hydrated
I sometimes will drink coffee to aide in the process of staying awake, but a great thing to always have is water. You can’t go wrong with that!

7. Take A Break
Give your brain, eyes and body a break. This tip is one that you’ll have to monitor yourself. What I like to do is get a lot of the work done before I take a break. For example, the project I’ll be doing today, I’ll probably find all ten of my examples first, take a break, then go and find the pictures and do the explanations. Try your best to avoid going on social networking sites during your break(s). It’ll be tempting, but it’s a trap……..just don’t do it.

8. Follow Through
I know you may think you’re over your head and you’ll get really tired and want to go to bed. If you have a lot of work to do, don’t say, “Ok, I’m going to stop now and go to bed. I’ll wake up at 6 to finish the rest.” Worst idea ever. If you have a paper to write, that is the worst thing you can do. Just finish it, print that bitch and stick it in your folder and put that damn folder in your backpack, you hear me!? To quote Beyoncé’s song ‘Schoolin’ Life’ from ‘4’, “Don’t stop runnin’ until it’s finished…”.

Those are just some of the tips I could think of. I’m sure I do some other random things when I’m in my intense all nighter mode, but these are a few I try to follow. Wish me luck on my all nighter and good luck on yours!

Happy Hump Day!

Leave a Reply

